The Graduate Medical Program of this University (now known as the University of Sydney Medical Program or USydMP) is now in its eleventh year. Under the initial leadership of Professors John Young, and later, Stephen Leeder, the ‘trio’ of Ann Sefton, Jill Gordon and Michael Field guided its conception, gestation, and delivery – and its early years of existence. Many have been involved since. We especially wish to mention Rebecca Mason and Simon Willcock who have been the principal leaders over recent years. Nick King as Chair of the Assessment Committee and Chris Roberts as Head of the Centre for Innovation in Professional Health Education and Research (CIPHER) have also provided invaluable leadership in their respective areas. The academic staff have been ably supported throughout by many administrative and educational personnel both in the Clinical Schools and on the University campus.

The USydMP was last accredited by the Australian Medical Council (AMC) at the end of 2005. It received the maximum 10 years accreditation.